Weekly Summary: 7/4 - 7/10

By Ryan Furrer

Welcome to the 3rd installment in my "Weekly Summary" series where I provide quick recaps for what I worked on the previous week to help keep myself accountable.

First, let's go over my weekly schedule:

Current Weekly Schedule

  • Monday - Thursday: Study from 6:00pm - 8:00pm-ish. I'll go until 9 depending on how I'm feeling.

  • Friday: Study from 1:00pm - 4:00pm I like to give myself more time to study when I can and working half-day Fridays for my current job is a great way to get in some extra time.

  • Saturday: Study from 7:30am - 9:30am I give myself at least 2 hours on Saturdays even though I can often get in more time.

  • Sunday: Day off This is my day to recoup, get energized, and prepare for the coming week!

This all works with my personal goal of studying/coding 2 hours per day. I would love to do more but I don't have the mental bandwidth throughout the week to do more, typically.

I don't always get to stick to this schedule but I try my best to do so. Now then, let's get to it!

Monday, July 5th

Monday I was off as Independence Day was observed and it's a national holiday in the US. I caught up on some emails/newsletters that were piling up in my inbox, posted last week's "Weekly Summary," and sent out my first newsletter via Revue! While this contained last week's "Weekly Summary" and I don't have much of

I also built our a link sharing page on my website that I have placed in my social media channels that links to my portfolio, blog, twitter, etc.

Tuesday, July 6th

Friends from out of state were in town so I took the night off and enjoyed dinner and catching up with them. While no coding was done, I thoroughly enjoyed the White Castle we ate 😋

Wednesday, July 7th

Wednesday was a bit tough for me...it was not the night I planned on having as I had to stop what I was doing to be there for my fiancée through a panic attack which also means being there for her the rest of the night.

Before that, however, I got in some studying React. Not a very productive night but things happen and you just have to adapt.

Thursday, July 8th

Thursday was fun! I got new switches for my mechanical keyboard so I installed those before diving into studying React.

Friday, July 9th

Friday was a fun day for me! I messed around in React and Gatsby a bit to learn it more in-depth. While I don't plan on using Gatsby for future projects on my portfolio, Coding Catchup is built on it so the more I learn the better, in my opinion.

I also created my own blog cover images to be more personalized. Though basic, I'd prefer using my own that I created in Affinity Designer. Previously I was using CoverView by Rutik Wankhade which worked well, but I wanted to create something I had total control over.

Saturday, July 10th

On Saturday I had to do some updating to my Wedding website, however, upon opening VS Code I saw how messy everything was. The HTML was not as semantic as I'd like and the SCSS was a garbled mess, so I chose to rewrite it from the ground up!

I spent Saturday only worrying about the mobile site as making it responsive wouldn't take too much.

Moving Forward

I have to finish my wedding website, that is first and foremost, as our wedding is in October and invites are going out very soon. Other than that I plan on doing some more writing this week and actually diving deep into React again, life-permitting.

If you don’t already, I’d love for you to follow my journey to becoming a web developer on Twitter where I’ve committed to and post updates daily! Come and say hi, I’d love to support you.

Like what you've read?

Subscribe to stay in the know when I publish new articles, find interesting things on the web, and more!

Subscribe to The RF Newsletter and be notified whenever I send out a new issue.